buggalcrafts

Crafts from my heart to yours!

Mini Fabric Wrapped Button Wreath


Mini Fabric Wrapped Button Wreath

At first glance a shower curtain ring might not seem to be the ideal mini wreath base, but add a little quilt batting and some seasonal fabric and you’ve got the perfect base for your mini wreath!

 

THE BIRTH OF THIS MINI WREATH

Last spring a chance trip to a thrift store netted me 18 wooden curtain rings for $1.99 and I been hooked on making mini wreaths ever since!

While looking for more wooden rings on the cheap (these are pretty expensive to buy outright in bulk!) I kept seeing shower curtain rings for dirt cheap – so the wheels started turning and I came up with a way to use these inexpensive plastic rings for spectacular Mardi Cras and Valentine’s Day Curtain Ring Ornaments.  Click on the link to see how I did it!

I made a few fabric wrapped mini grapevine button wreaths for my Christmas tree last year but just thought that using them as the wreath base was just too expensive.  I continued to wrestle with the need for a CHEAP wreath base until I remembered the Candy Cane Package Decorations I made that were inspired by my friend Maggie’s Fabric Wrapped Candy Canes.  She uses plastic candy canes for a base and I had tried some with some super skinny (remember these?) purchased at a flea market.  I didn’t like how they looked so I used quilt batting to pad them out.  Remembering this, the “Mini Fabric Wrapped Button Wreath” was born!

CRAFT PATICULARS

These are very cute hanging on a seasonal tree or wreath.  Or suspend one or two on long ribbons and hang them in a window,

This is a great craft for kids as it is very easy to do. And at less than 15 cents each it is also very inexpensive – – – making it a great craft for a crowd.

And while it is easy enough for kids, teens and adults can be challenged enough to keep their interest.

Customize it to the season simply by changing the color of the fabric, buttons and trim. So it works for Valentine’s Day, spring & Easter, Harvest, Christmas, etc. all equally well.

Use your mother’s or grandmother’s vintage buttons to create a heirloom ornament.

 INSTRUCTIONS

Materials
  • Shower curtain rings
  • Quilt batting strips
  • Torn fabric strips
  • Trim:   ribbon, lace, rick-rack, etc.
  • Embellishments:  buttons, mini wooden shapes, ornamental buttons, string of seed pearls, etc.
  • Ornament hangers

 

Also Needed
  • Scissors
  • White glue
  • Cotton swabs or paint brush

 

Cost
  • Rings: On-hand or around 8 cents each
  • Fabric: On-hand or $1 a yard and up
  • Buttons: On-hand or $2 and up for 30

 

PHOTO TUTORIAL

Photo 1: Assemble supplies. Cut strips of quilt batting. Tear strips of fabric. Both need to be about 1 inch wide and 14 inches long.

Photo 2: Starting at the open end (this will be the top of the wreath) of the shower curtain ring wrap the quilt batting strip around the ring. Apply tape or glue to hold.

Photo 3: Attach the torn fabric strip to the top of the wreath with a little glue and then wrap around the ring overlapping the edges until the ring is completely covered. Trim end and the glue to hold.

Photo 4: Secure end with glue. Allow to dry.

Photo 5: Glue buttons on the wreath.

Photo 6: Wrap contrasting trim around the top of the wreath several times and then tie the ends into a bow. Insert ornament hanger under trim. Glue a button and/or other embellishment in the center of the bow if desired.

NOTES:

  • Wrap very narrow trim all the way around the wreath if desired.
  • Instead of gluing a mini ornament on the wreath tie it to the top of the wreath before adding trim and let it hang freely in the center of the wreath.
Thank you for reading my post. I hope you enjoyed the tutorial.  If you have any questions or something is not clear, please let me know so that I can improve the tutorial.   
Please take a moment to leave a comment and rate this post.
Thanks again. 
Melba a.k.a. buggalcrafts

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Mini Fabric Wrapped Button Wreath

  1. So cute just in time for spring and Easter baskets. I just had a thought, can you come up with something like this in the baby/bridal shower theme? “Shower” rings. Bet you can! 🙂

    • Sure. Give me a couple of weeks. Already a baby shower mini wreath idea comes to mind. Now I just need to let it gel awhile. Love the pun!!! Thanks so much for the sweet comment!

  2. Pingback: Mini Bunny Hug Wreath « buggalcrafts

Thanks so much for taking time to look at my blog! I would love to hear what you think about my craft project and hear about how your' project turns out.