buggalcrafts

Crafts from my heart to yours!

Candy Cane Package Topper


Candy Cane Package Decoration

Candy Cane Package Topper

I found this FANTASTIC project, FABRIC WRAPPED CANDY CANES, on Maggie’s blog; Eyeballs by Day Crafts by Night; that I absolutely LOVED. And as I had both wrapping paper and candy canes on hand it struck me that I could make great  package decorations that coordinate with my wrapping paper!

This year I used three wrapping paper designs that all “went together” so it was easy to make these package decorations that not only look cute but are also are a sweet treat to eat for the recipient.

And a great plus to this project is that it uses up that leftover scrap paper that otherwise will get tossed – or if you had a mother like mine you will save in a box until the end of time “just in case” the world runs out of wrapping paper!  And your only cost is $1 for the candy canes!  This is also simply enough for kids too!

For a great photo tutorial on wrapping a candy cane see Maggie’s post FABRIC WRAPPED CANDY CANES.  Listed below are a few pointers on using wrapping paper to wrap candy canes.

Materials:

  • Wrapping paper scraps
  • Candy canes
  • Scissors
  • Glue or tape (dull finish)

Instructions:

  1. Cut three 1 inch wide 10 inch long strips of wrapping paper that coordinate or contrast with the paper on your package to wrap the cane. Three strips will cover a regular cane. I found it easier to work with several 10 inch long strips (because that was how wide the scrap pieces of wrapping paper on the floor were!) instead of a 30 inch long continuous strip.
  2. Simply secure the first strip of paper to the candy cane with tape (use the dull finish tape so it won’t show) or some white glue.
  3. Then start wrapping the cane splicing in additional strips as needed.
  4. Finish off the cane by folding the ends of the wrapping paper in on each other around the ends of the cane.
  5. And presto – – – you have the perfect package decoration!

Thanks for taking the time to read this post.  I’d LOVE to hear from you!  Drop me a line below!

buggalcrafts a.k.a. melbe 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Candy Cane Package Topper

  1. Pingback: Mini Fabric Wrapped Button Wreath « buggalcrafts

  2. these are great! and awesome idea to make them as package toppers! I just love yours!

Thanks so much for taking time to look at my blog! I would love to hear what you think about my craft project and hear about how your' project turns out.

