buggalcrafts

Crafts from my heart to yours!

Gingerbread Snowflakes


Gingerbread Snowflakes

This ornament was inspired by the Puzzle Piece Snowflake I first saw on an on-line pal’s blog – Lisa’s Craft Blog.

Although I love her finished product my tree has a sugar cookie & gingerbread theme so I just had to make mine a “gingerbread snowflake”.

I really love how the snowflake turned out.  This would also be great on a rustic tree featuring bears, canoes, pinecones, etc.  You could also add pastel paint around the edges of the white “frosting” to further the gingerbread effect.

  1. Instructions

  2. I assembled my snowflakes using pieces from an “age 6 and up” puzzle and followed Lisa’s clear directions.  My snowflakes measure 4″x4″.  You can easily (and I did!) make snowflakes from smaller puzzle pieces and make smaller ornaments.
  3. After the glue dried I painted my snowflakes with Cinnamon FolkArt® Acrylic Paint.
  4. After the paint dried I daubed on white paint with a cotton swab to resemble frosting.
  5. I purchased a package of rusted heart garland at Hobby Lobby the day before I tried this project so I snipped off a heart along with some of the wire and curled the about 1 1/2″ long wires around the end of my paintbrush to create a curly-que.
  6. Because the back of the heart has a concave surface I needed to fill this “hole” in order to glue it on using foam glue (if you use a hot glue gun no filler would be necessary but I tend to burn myself) so I used the cotton that was saturated with glue from the cotton swab to pad out the heart. I added a little extra glue to the snowflake and put the heart in place.
  7. Then I snipped off another heart with wire tag ends and wrapped the wire around the sticky outie piece tab of top puzzle piece as a hanger.   Use a little glue to secure it.
  8. Optional:  Seal the ornament with several layers of Mod Podge or other sealeant.

Thanks for taking a look – drop me a line!

buggalcrafts

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Gingerbread Snowflakes

  1. Wow!!! This is fantastic!! The details you added to the piece are incredible!! The edging, the wires, the whole thing is beautiful!! I like your’s better than my original!! Great work!!
    ~Lisa

    • Thanks so much! I really like yours too. It also looks great white with the rusty heart or star in the mddle. I plan to do some white ones to give away next year. You are really creative!

  2. Many thanks for taking the time to write down this post. It is been extremely helpful. It couldn’t have arrive at a better time for me! http://www.ctctradeshows.com

  3. Pingback: My Valentine Garland! « buggalcrafts

  4. Pingback: Guest Blog: buggalcrafts | buggalcrafts

Thanks so much for taking time to look at my blog! I would love to hear what you think about my craft project and hear about how your' project turns out.