buggalcrafts

Crafts from my heart to yours!

Gingerbread Ornaments: Clothespins & Cinnamon Sticks and Mini Fabric Wrapped Candy Canes


Gingerbread Ornaments & Mini Fabric Wrapped Candy Canes

The inspiration for these ornaments was a craft project, Gingerbread Min Clothespins, on Eyeballsbyday’s craft blog which is expertly written and photographed by Maggie.  As I didn’t have any mini clothespins on-hand I used regular sized ones. Also I don’t paint that well – I need LOTS more practice – so I punched some dots & hearts from craft foam for the buttons, found some mini googley eyes and some fine white cord to make the mouth.  I cut some “icing” from white craft foam with zigzag scissors. I painted the clothespins with FolkArt Cinnamon Acrylic Paint and let them dry.  Then I glued all the attachments on the clothespins and daubed on some pink checks.  I did try my hand at painting features on some of them using a toothpick for the brush.

The project also inspired me to make gingerbread men from cinnamon sticks.  Again I painted some and glued attachments on others.  I glued on a piece of jute for a hanger.

One of the things I have gotten for FREE on listia.com (a great site!) was some mini vinyl gingerbread men (Oriental Trading sells these).  Since I was making clothespins ornaments I thought, “Hey!, why not glue these bad boys on clothespins too?”  I did and they came out cute too.  I am wondering if they would look better on natural or white-painted clothespins.  I use E-6000 glue to attach the vinyl gingerbread men to the clothespins.  I used white glue first but the gingerbread men broke off when I pinched the clothespins to attach it to a tree limb.

The last thing I added to my mini tree were some fabric wrapped candy canes also inspired by a craft project on Maggie’s blog.  I really liked how the ones wrapped in white muslin and then wrapped with red rick-rack turned out.

Take a look and let me know what you think.  I’d love to hear from you!

buggalcrafts

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Single Post Navigation

Thanks so much for taking time to look at my blog! I would love to hear what you think about my craft project and hear about how your' project turns out.

