buggalcrafts

Crafts from my heart to yours!

Cookie Cutters: Not Just For Cookies Anymore! Post # 21: Package Decoration & Name Tags


Cookie Cutters:  Not Just For Cookies Anymore! Post # 21:  Package Decoration & Name Tags

This is a great way to add a little finishing touch to a last-minute gift.  Tie a mini cookie cutter and tags to a jar of cookie mix or to a bag of cookies.  Add a wooden baking utensil, set of measuring spoons, oven mitt, etc. and your family recipe for the item (even if it’s Duncan Hines!).

This is a great way for the kids to have a hand in decorating gifts for their grandparents, aunts, etc.

Simply by varying the cutters you can adopt this project to any season.

Materials

  • Cardstock
  • Craft foam or cardstock scraps
  • Ribbon or trim
  • Mini cookie cutters, wooden spoons, measuring cups, other baking utensils

 

Also needed

  • Scissors
  • Markers, colors, etc.
  • Pen
  • Cookie cutters

 

Instructions

Photo 1: Assemble supplies.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo 2: Trace cutter shapes. For the example I used two related shapes to create tags.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo 3: Cut out shapes and decorate with markers, colors, foam, paper, etc. Punch hole in top of shapes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo 4: Tie a ribbon on a mini cutter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo 5: Tie cutter on a gift bag.

Photo 6: Thread cookie cutter shapes onto ribbon ends and tie off.

NOTES:

  • To make the package decoration into a name tag write the “to” and “from” on one of the tags.
  • Tie the package decoration to a package bow.  Stick the bow atop a wrapped present to serve as a name tag and a package decoration.
  • Or tie a wrapped present with raffia and then tie the package decoration to the package with the ends of the raffia and make a shoestring bow (my personal favorite).

Thank you for reading my post. I hope you enjoyed the tutorial.  If you have any questions or something is not clear, please let me know so that I can improve the tutorial.   

Please take a moment to leave a comment and rate this post.

Thanks again.  

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Cookie Cutters: Not Just For Cookies Anymore! Post # 21: Package Decoration & Name Tags

  1. invadingnola on said:

    these are really cute..

  2. So cute!
    I just wanted to remind you in case you haven’t done it yet, if you’d like to keep following my blog at it’s new url, I’ll need you to resubscribe. I hope you do! 🙂 Here’s the link including the info on the giveaway: http://www.becauseithinkican.com/2012/02/28/today-is-switch-day-win-a-giveaway/
    Thanks!!! Leanne @ Because (I think) I Can

  3. Pingback: Cookie Cutters Not Just For Cookies Anymore Series « buggalcrafts

  4. Pingback: Cookie Cutters: Not Just For Cookies Anymore: The Series – Links to Posts « buggalcrafts

Thanks so much for taking time to look at my blog! I would love to hear what you think about my craft project and hear about how your' project turns out.