buggalcrafts

Crafts from my heart to yours!

Preschool Sunday School Project: Miriam Watching Over Baby Moses


Preschool Sunday School Project: Miriam Watching Over Baby Moses

I looked at a lot of “Baby Moses” art projects preparing for a lesson this Sunday.  I particularly liked this one because it shows Miriam watching over baby Moses and THAT, not Moses as a baby, was the focus of the lesson!  I found this project on DLTK’s Bible Activities (and if you have never visited the site do so today, is totally FANTASTIC!).

You will note some differences in my project and the instructions because, as you already know, I JUST CAN’T follow directions to the letter!

Please visit the link above for instructions and a template for the figures.  The changes to the project I made are detailed below.

  1. First I used a paper plate colored blue instead of paper as a base. This provides a more stable base. However a paper base allows the project to be folded for storage. So both ways are great!
  2. Second, I cut around the figure of the baby and pasted it on a brown construction paper oval so Moses is in a basket. I also colored the center of the coffee filter blue and then colored the inside AND the outside of the coffee filter with three different colors of green with brown accents (Hey! “My” kids also had some Kentucky blue grass growing in their bulrushes!).
  3. Next I also cut around Miriam and to make some bulrushes for Miriam to hide in I cut rectangles from two colors of green construction paper. Fold a one inch tab in the green papers before cutting fringe to be the individual rushes so there is a base to glue to the plate.  Then, idea courtesy of one of my kids, I glued her between the two layers so Miriam is hiding IN the bulrushes!
  4. And lastly (and a last minute idea!), I added some glitter glue to the water for a little sparkle, because what preschool kid doesn’t like a little glitter?

Thanks for taking a look.  Please drop me a line and let me know what you think about this preschool Bible craft!

buggalcrafts a.k.a. melba

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Preschool Sunday School Project: Miriam Watching Over Baby Moses

  1. Pingback: Crafts – Baby Moses

  2. Becca Hower on said:

    where did you print miriam?

    • If u click on the link “Miriam watching over baby Moses” it will take u to the page I got the idea from. There is also a link to the site it is on – they have lots of great ideas for lessons and crafts.

  3. It’s awesome. Thanks so much for sharing freely. You blessed us!

  4. I love your changes to the project! It really takes it to the next level without really adding too much. I like to see how different people use different things, and I love how you followed your child’s lead on the project too. That’s the best!

Thanks so much for taking time to look at my blog! I would love to hear what you think about my craft project and hear about how your' project turns out.