buggalcrafts

Crafts from my heart to yours!

Cookie Cutters: Not Just For Cookies Anymore! Post # 27: Ladybug Cookie Cutter Pin Cushion


In just one afternoon your decorative pins and your ladybug pincushion can be ready for gifting!

Cookie Cutters:  Not Just For Cookies Anymore! Post # 27: Ladybug Cookie Cutter Pincushion

 

It’s not too late to make a last minute special gift for Mother’s Day.  All you need is a metal cookie cutter, a little fabric, a metal pot-scrubber and a few other craft materials you probably have on-hand!

This is one cookie cutter craft item that somehow did not make it into the series yet.  I was quite sure I had included a link to a tutorial, but in searching I do not see this mentioned!  That is about to be rectified.

There are numerous tutorials on making cookie cutter pincushions and several on using a metal pot-scrubber to make a pincushion, but to my knowledge there is not one that combines both.

The metal scrubber will function to keep your pins & needles sharp.

This would be a great way to display a vintage cookie cutter and if you use vintage material, trim and buttons from you stash inherited from your grand-mother, this would make a wonderful memory craft!

Materials

  • Metal outline cookie cutter
  • Fabric
  • Button or other embellishment
  • Lace and other trims
  • Metal pot-scrubber
  • Heavy cardboard
  • Decorative pins(link to tutorial below)

Also Needed

  • Needle and embroidery thread
  • Fabric glue
  • Chopstick
  • Scissors

Costs: I had all material on-hand from other projects.  I had the metal pot-scrubbers because I was making some teacup pincushions (17 to 25 cents per scrubber) .  This is a $1 and up project.

Skill Level: Beginner to Intermediate.  Minimum sewing.

Time To Complete: An evening.  This would be a great rainy day activity or a great project for your tween.  Knock out lots of these in a day to have on-hand for last minute Christmas gifts that look anything but “last minute”.

 

https://buggalcrafts.wordpress.com/2012/04/18/vintage-look-a-like-minihat-pins/

Thank you for reading my post. I hope you enjoyed the tutorial.  If you have any questions or something is not clear, please let me know so that I can improve the tutorial.   

Please take a moment to leave a comment and rate this post.

Thanks again. 

buggalcrafts a.k.a. melba

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Cookie Cutters: Not Just For Cookies Anymore! Post # 27: Ladybug Cookie Cutter Pin Cushion

  1. Pingback: Vintage Look-A-Likes: Mini Hat Pins « buggalcrafts

  2. Pingback: Cookie Cutters: Not Just For Cookies Anymore: The Series – Links to Posts « buggalcrafts

Thanks so much for taking time to look at my blog! I would love to hear what you think about my craft project and hear about how your' project turns out.