buggalcrafts

Crafts from my heart to yours!

Framed Mini “Crazy Quilt”


Framed Mini “Crazy Quilt”

I love quilts, who doesn’t? But I’m not willing to part with the big buck for them and sewing on a button tests the limits of my sewing abilities! Basically if it can’t be glued, then it just doesn’t happen for me! And, hey, I’m must admit I’m some kind of fierce with glue! Would you be surprised that you can “quilt” with glue? Well, you can make something that can PASS for a quilt. Ok, it can pass for a quilt if you are approaching the big 5 – 0 and have been severely myopic since the 5th grade and really, really need bi-focals but have been putting them off for a long time now because you are already nauseated. But hey, I’ve never looked better in the mirror!!!!

Did I mention I also have a lot of “fake” quilts around? Those bedspreads that LOOK like quilts but aren’t! And of course my “faux-quilt” crafts.

So, here is my latest “faux-quilt” project. I’m presenting the project to you “warts” and all. I hope you will learn from my mistakes, I know I did!

Materials

• Mini frame

• Quilt-like material

• Embroidery thread

• Light colored cardstock

• Tiny buttons

Also Needed

• Needle

• Fabric glue

• Tongue depressor and/or toothpicks

Cost: This is another one of my favorite crafts: FREE or under $1.  I had all the items on-hands leftover from other projects except for the frames and I bought them just to have around should inspiration strike!

  • Mini Frame:  I got a box of 12 of these frames at a garage sale for 75 cents.  Another place to look for small frames is a thrift store.
  • Material & thread:  These were both from what I had on-hand.
  • Other materials:  Again on-hand.

Photo Tutorial

Thank you for reading my post. I hope you enjoyed the tutorial. If you have any questions or something is not clear, please let me know so that I can improve the tutorial.

Please take a moment to leave a comment and rate this post.

Thanks again.

buggalcrafts a.k.a. melba

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Framed Mini “Crazy Quilt”

  1. Hi! Cute craft idea!
    I am answering your questions about the jet pack project I did!
    The kids will LOVE this project!

    Okay questions.
    1. I just barely misted the outside of the bottle with silver spray paint…just the sides that were going to show, not even the back where I glued it to the cardboard…that way it dries super fast!

    2. The webbing across the front was just straight from one arm strap to the other. This can be completely left off, and it still works great. Just like a backpack sometimes has those “seatbelt” straps that belt in the front. Same concept, but not necessary for lift off.

    I hope that helped! Let me know if you have other questions!

    Nat
    doodlecraft.blogspot

    • Thanks so much! I’d appreciate it if u’d comment on ur post too. I’ve posted this to several websites that VBS teachers use and they might have the same questions. I also plan on telling the pre-school teachers of two other churches who are using the same theme. Thanks again!

Thanks so much for taking time to look at my blog! I would love to hear what you think about my craft project and hear about how your' project turns out.

