buggalcrafts

Crafts from my heart to yours!

Mini Mardi Gras Grapevine Wreaths


Mini Mardi Gras Grapevine Wreaths

These cute little wreaths are a snap to make.  

Suspend several on ribbons from a curtain rod or tie them to a seasonal wreath. 

Materials

  • Mini grapevine wreaths
  • Small Mardi Gras embellishments: musical notes, fleur-de-lis, alligators, doubloons, etc.
  • Mardi Gras drink stirrers
  • Mini Mardi Gras beads (small beads)
  • Ribbon and trims: purple, yellow & green
  • Feathers : purple, yellow & green
  • Craft wire

Also Needed

  • White glue
  • Cool melt glue gun and glue sticks
  • Paint brush
  • Paint: green, yellow & purple (glossy or enamel)
  • Paper plate

I made these first of all without painting the wreaths.  But when I tied them on my greenery wreath and stepped back across the room, they totally disappeared into the green without a trace.  So, time to try something new!   There was really no contest for what to try – paint.  I found that the glossy and enamel looked a lot better than just regular acrylic.  These are as fun to make as they are to hang!

Instructions

Photo 3: My first attempt! While it doesn't look like it from this photo the wreath disappears into the greenery. Back to the old drawing board! Photo 4 ompleted Musi Wreath. Adding the paint to the wrath makes it really stand out of the door wrath I made.

Photo 6: Fleur de lis Wreath. Tie on short pieces of tricolored ribbon and then glue on a fleur de lis backed by feathers.

Photo 7: Fleur de lis embellishments. Break the fleur de lis off plastic drink stirrers. Sand lightly then prep with sealant. Paint as desired and allow to dry before gluing it on.

Thank you for reading my post. I hope you enjoyed the tutorial.  If you have any questions or something is not clear, please let me know so that I can improve the tutorial.   

Please take a moment to leave a comment and rate this post.

Thanks again. 

buggalcrafts

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Mini Mardi Gras Grapevine Wreaths

  1. invadingnola on said:

    I love making things with grape vine wreaths (Thanks Mom!)..
    Yours turned out so awesome.. perhaps I’ll try this with my new glue gun!
    lynne

Thanks so much for taking time to look at my blog! I would love to hear what you think about my craft project and hear about how your' project turns out.

