buggalcrafts

Crafts from my heart to yours!

A Little Bit About Mardi Gras PLUS a GIVE AWAY!


WIN THIS: Mardi Gras In A Box

A Little Bit About Mardi Gras

Mardi Gras or “Fat Tuesday”, the last day of the Carnival season, always falls the day before Ash Wednesday, the first day of Lent. The date varies dependent upon when Easter occurs. This year the date is Tuesday February 21. The Carnival season, a weeklong celebration, is all about cramming in as many good things as can be eaten or done before a season of fasting or as it is put in south Louisiana, “Laissez les bons temps rouler” or “Let the good times roll!”

What to Know More About Mardi Gras?

This a great site where you can find out about all things Mardi Gras – from a history of the doubloons to how to make an imitation king cake!

http://mardigrasday.com/mardigras/mardigrasinfo.php

So, you don’t live or are not going to visit on of the places where Mardi Gras is celebrated. How can you host your own Mardi Gras celebration?  You will find out everything from how to make your own float to how to make an imitation king cake!

http://mardigrasday.com/mardigras/ideas.php

You may know that there is a tiny baby inside and whoever gets is brings the next King cake, but what is the significance of the King Cake? The site also has a great explanation.

http://mardigrasday.com/mardigras/mardigrasinfo.php?article_id=11

How Will You Celebrate Mardi Gras?

Design your masks from construction paper, pull some plastic beads out of the toy box, eat your imitation king cake and have a great time with your family!

Win a “Mardi Gras Party for One in a Box”

To help you out I am going to have a It’s a Mardi Gras Party Give-Away.  To enter comment below about how you are going to celebrated Mardi Gras.   On February 13th at 9:00 pm CST I will select one lucky winner a “Mardi Gras Party for One in a Box”. This “kit” will have beads, a half face mask to decorate, confetti, temporary tattoo, a baby & beads for your imitation King Cake and MORE!!!

Thanks For Taking The Time To Read This!

Thanks so much for reading my post. I hope you will comment and enter the Mardi Gras give-away.

Don’t Miss This Upcoming Post: My Mardi Gras Wreath & Ornaments

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “A Little Bit About Mardi Gras PLUS a GIVE AWAY!

  1. amybrinager on said:

    Not sure how we will spend Mardi Gras this year. Probably just spend the evening at home with my little family 🙂

    • Thanks for taking the time to read my post! Sounds like great plans for Mardi Gras! I hope u find something to help u celebrate on the

      Come back by in the am when I will be giving the first THREE people to comment a Mardi Gras King Cake Decorating Kit. (Mardi Gras baby, plastic Mardi Gras coin and a stand of beads). I forgot to add this info to this post – it’s on the post scheduled in th am!!!

      Happy Crafting from buggalcrafts

  2. Pingback: Mardi Gras Wreath 2012 & 2nd Chance At The Mardi Gras Give-Away! « buggalcrafts

  3. Sherry Lykins on said:

    Will probably go out with my husband and get beads!! lilsis_75@hotmail.com

  4. invadingnola on said:

    Great post and lots of good links as well.. since I’m not in NOLA, yet..very soon..I believe I will decorate my garage into a mini-Mardi Gras arena.. Why not? Bet when I open the garage door, hit the music all my neighbors will be tossing beads my way for livening up the neighborhood..:-)

    Lyne

    • That sounds really, really fun!!! Good Luck on winning the box! My granddaughter will be my random number generator!!! U win a King Ckae Decor Kit. Send me your addy to buggal1989@yahoo.com and I will send it out after the winner for the Box Contest is annoumced. Thanks so much for stopping by!

  5. My RANDOM NUMBER GENERATOR (a.k.a. my granddaughter) picked NUMBER (drum roll please) ONE as the winner of the Mardi Gras In A Box Give Away Winner!

    Congrats go out to AMY!!!!!

    I will go to town in the am to mail ur box (and the King Cake Decor Kits).

    Thanks to everyone who commented. I hope u enjoy the cake kits and u & ur family have a happy Mardi Gras season.

Thanks so much for taking time to look at my blog! I would love to hear what you think about my craft project and hear about how your' project turns out.

