buggalcrafts

Crafts from my heart to yours!

Blog Review: Kids Craft Tutorial: Valentine Heart Mobile


My Valentine GarlandThe ladybug beaded ornament.

Kids Craft Tutorial: Valentine Heart Mobile

These cute hearts by Heather were featured on Dollar Store crafts very, very recently. They are so cute I had to drop everything and try a couple.  The photos here are my takes on the project.   But Heather’s look much nicer!

See the tutorial at this link.

http://dollarstorecrafts.com/2012/01/kids-craft-tutorial-valentine-heart-mobile/

If you aren’t signed up for Dollar Store Crafts take a couple of minutes to tour this site. There are so many useful tips & timesavers not to mention the great craft ideas!

Here is what you will need to do this craft project:

  • 3 chenille stems (pipe cleaners), on hand or $1
  • 18 medium-sized beads, on hand or $1
  • 1/8″ ribbon or yarn, on hand or about $.50 at your local craft store
  • Pencil

These are the instructions for what I did differently than Heather.

  1. The only chenille stem I could find was a red & white striped one.  When I went to work with it my beads wouldn’t fit and I discovered that it was actually two stems wrapped together.  So I unwrapped them and they were curly!  I think it’s cute and didn’t try to straighten them.
  2. The first one I did only with heart shaped pony beads.
  3. Then I remembered I have some ladybug beads I have been panting to try in a project.  The only problem is that the hole in the bead is too small for the chenille stem to go through.  SO, I threaded the bead on a short piece of wire then threaded each end of the wire through the pony beads and tied the wire off by wrapping it around and around the stem.  Then I bent the stems up a little so the pony beads were even with the ladybug bead.  I also wired another ladybug to the point of the heart.

I really like these ornaments because you can make each one different. I am using mine as ornaments on my Valentine’s garland.

Thanks so much for reading my post.  Please leave a comment so I can pay your blog a visit. 

I’d love to hear your opinion on any of the craft projects I have done tutorials for.

 

Thread a short peice of wire through the bead and twist behind the bead.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Blog Review: Kids Craft Tutorial: Valentine Heart Mobile

  1. They look great!! Thanks for the shout out & for showcasing your craft!

    • Thanks! Y’all are very welcome! I LOVE Dollar Store Crafts. It’s my favorite blog. I almost always find something I can make with what I have in the house! Would really love to have my crafts featured on your site. I have submitted some Christmas ones, but guess I’d better send a few more that are closer!

  2. Pingback: Guest Blog: buggalcrafts | buggalcrafts

Thanks so much for taking time to look at my blog! I would love to hear what you think about my craft project and hear about how your' project turns out.

