buggalcrafts

Crafts from my heart to yours!

Cookie Cutters: Not Just For Cookies Anymore! Post # 14: Cookie Cutter Shapes Emergency (& Not So Emergency) Phone Number Bulletin Board


Cookie Cutters:  Not Just For Cookies Anymore! Post # 14:  Cookie Cutter Shapes Emergency (& Not So Emergency) Phone Number Bulletin Board

I read this idea in a magazine somewhere several years ago and jotted it down in my cookie cutter tickler file.  Sorry I don’t have any photos of this project.  I did not find the idea until after my kids were “too old” for this – – – I mean now I ask THEM what the number I need is!!!!   

 

Cookie Cutter Shapes Phone Number Bulletin Board

Instead of a jumble of names & phone numbers on a messy handwritten list (at least at my house!) make a bulletin board for those emergency (and those not so emergency) phone numbers in a way the kids can find the number they need quickly.

Let your kids help with this.  Even those 2 and under can choose the shape to go with a name!

 Materials

  • Bulletin board
  • Fabric
  • Paper:  construction or scrapbook paper & cardstock
  • Photos of loved ones

 Also needed

  • Scissors
  • Cookie cutters
  • Glue stick
  • Stapler

Instructions

  1. Cover bulletin board with an attention-getting fabric and secure it with staples.
  2. Use cookie cutters to cut die cut shapes that represent the person or facility the child might have to call (for example a fire engine for the fire department, a heart with her photo for grandma, etc.) out of construction or scrapbook paper or cardstock.
  3. Write the name or glue the photo on and write the phone number on each shape.
  4. Arrange the shapes in an attractive pattern on the bulletin board.
  5. Place the bulletin board by the phone.
  6. The child can then quickly find the shape (instead of looking for a name on a jumbled list) that has the number they need on their own.

 

Thank you for reading my post. I hope you enjoyed the tutorial.  If you have any questions or something is not clear, please let me know so that I can improve the tutorial.   

Please take a moment to leave a comment and rate this post.

Thanks again. 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Cookie Cutters: Not Just For Cookies Anymore! Post # 14: Cookie Cutter Shapes Emergency (& Not So Emergency) Phone Number Bulletin Board

  1. This cookie cutter bulletin board is a great idea!

    • Thank you. I wish I could say where I found it. But in all my recent searching on-line for cookie cutter crafts I have not ran across it again. Of course it may now be the 3 millionth entry on the web by ow! But here it is now so it can be passed on once again! So maybe it’ll be near the top for a few years!

  2. Pingback: Cookie Cutters Not Just For Cookies Anymore Series « buggalcrafts

  3. Pingback: Cookie Cutters: Not Just For Cookies Anymore: The Series – Links to Posts « buggalcrafts

Thanks so much for taking time to look at my blog! I would love to hear what you think about my craft project and hear about how your' project turns out.

