buggalcrafts

Crafts from my heart to yours!

Craft Stick Snowman Ornament


005Craft Stick Snowman Ornament

In my e-mail this week was an awesome project from Crafts By Amanda that I just HAD to try right away – – –   Paint Stick Snowmen.  As you can tell by my title (and because I’m me) I made some changes.  I think both projects look great and what I love the best about crafting is the fact that you can take a pattern or tutorial and do something a little bit different and personalize the project.  It impresses me that there are just so many ways to go when you first look at a project.

I didn’t do a photo tutorial but this is a simple fairly straight forward project.  Take a look at Amanda’s tutorial if you get lost.

These would look great on a seasonal tree in January. I see white bark and white lights.

Materials

  • Craft sticks
  • Homespun fabric
  • Embroidery thread
  • Whole peppercorns
  • Mini buttons
  • Toothpicks
  • Snow scene “fabric” or quilt batting

Also Needed

  • White craft glue
  • Bamboo skewer
  • Orange marker
  • White paint

Instructions

  1. Paint the craft sticks white and allow them to dry.  I used two coats.  On some of the sticks I use some white fine glitter paint over the last coat to add some sparkle to the ornaments.  I’d recommend 2 coats of this for maximum effect!
  2. Break off about a third of the toothpick.  Then color it orange with the permanent marker.  This is much easier than getting the paint out and making a mess!  I also like Amanda’s idea of using an orange toothpick and I have some colored toothpick on-hand but wouldn’t you know it there are no orange ones!
  3. Cut a 2 inch by 2 inch square from the material.  I like the way homespun fabric drapes and how flannel looks but you can use any you have on hand.
  4. Glue the square to the top of the craft stick to make the hat.  See Amanda’s excellent tutorial for how to do this.  I found that doublestick tape works really well for attaching the fabric when you are doing a bunch – and it eliminates drying time!   But when you tie off the hat with the embroidery thread leave long tail ends and tie them in a knot so you will have a hanger.  I forgot to do that with mine so will have to go back and attach a loop.
  5. Cut a one half inch strip of the snow “fabric” and glue it to the bottom of the cap.  Then trim the end off.
  6. See Amanda tutorial and read the comments for some additional hat ideas.
  7. Cut (or tear) a one inch strip of homespun fabric for the scarf.  Tie it around the snowman’s “neck” and then fringe the ends.  How long you want your scarf is up to you.  I prefer a short scarf.
  8. Apply 2 dots of glue with the bamboo skewer for the eyes (cut the sharp tip off if kids are doing this project) and then glue on two peppercorns.
  9. Apply a line of glue for the nose and glue down the orange toothpick piece to finish the carrot nose.  You could also cut a nose out of orange craft foam.
  10. Apply 5 dots of glue for the mouth and glue down 5 peppercorns.
  11. Glue 2 or 3 mini buttons on the snowman’s “body”.
  12. Let dry completely and the hang on the tree.

Thanks so much for taking a look.  I love to hear your comments! 

Buggalcrafts a.k.a. melba

Single Post Navigation

Thanks so much for taking time to look at my blog! I would love to hear what you think about my craft project and hear about how your' project turns out.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

