buggalcrafts

Crafts from my heart to yours!

Before & After: From “Bad Candle” to “Fab Candle”! A Fleur-de-lis Embellished Candle


The “before”: What Can Be Done With This?

Before & After:

From “Bad” to “Fab”!

A Fleur-de-lis Embellished Candle

Can this candle be “Saved From the Trash” or from a life as the designated “emergency” candle?

I bought the really great re-usable metal fleur-de-lis candle embellishment and it came with a less than specular green candle.

If you know me you know I both CAN’T bear to throw anything that might be used in the next 100 years away (look for me on the TV show Hoarders in about 10 years!) and that I am too thrifty to get rid of anything that can be used again (hence the shed full of stuff!).

So, my question to myself was “Could I salvage this candle AND do it within my budget (FREE!)?”.

The "after". Fab!

Well, I think I did a pretty good job of giving this candle a new life. It wasn’t without a couple of mishaps, but I think that it came out better for those “slips of the scissors” than the way I originally planned.

If you are using a “trash” candle and would like to paint it, by all means, learn from my experience and paint the candle BEFORE you decorate it.

This candle should be used for DECORATIVE PURPOSES ONLY because of the paint and paper adhering to the candle.

Materials

  • Gold or black pillar      candle
  • Black flocked scrapbook      paper
  • Gold-tone      patterned scrapbook paper
  • Black & gold      patterned ribbon – narrow and wide
  • Gold-tone &      black ornamental buttons (shank back)
  • Gold-tone      fleur-de-lis candle insert or push-pin
  • Straight pins

Also Needed

  • Mod Podge
  • Paintbrush
  • Scissors
  • Ruler
  • Silver metallic permanent marker
  • Gold metallic paint (optional)
  • Gold glitter paint (optional)

Photo Tutorial

Thank you for reading my post. I hope you enjoyed the tutorial. If you have any questions or something is not clear, please let me know so that I can improve the tutorial.

Please take a moment to leave a comment and rate this post.

Thanks again.

buggalcrafts

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Before & After: From “Bad Candle” to “Fab Candle”! A Fleur-de-lis Embellished Candle

  1. I love this ! Great job :)

  2. Gaynell Smith on said:

    Where can I find the pin I have not been able to find them anywhere

Thanks so much for taking time to look at my blog! I would love to hear what you think about my craft project and hear about how your' project turns out.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

