buggalcrafts

Crafts from my heart to yours!

Beaded Hearts


                                                                   BEADED HEART  

I was inspired to make a thread spool Valentine heart last night at midnight – why does the crafting fever always hit you about then?  I found the wire easily enough – BUT –  even though I found the thread spools the day before I could not locate them last night!  So, what was I to do?

Soooo, I dug around in my stash and found some baby wooden spools and some beads and made one  but I wanted to make MORE!   BUT I didn’t have enough to make another heart so the search was on for where I had stuck the rest of the wooden beads.  You know how it is, don’t you?   I tried to use white pony beads and heart shaped pony beads but I just did not like the look of the heart so I took it apart.  And as much as I looked I couldn’t find the other wooden beads.  In fact I didn’t find them till today!

And yes, I made a second one this am!  I even used some of my ladybug wooden beads.

So, anyway, for your crafting pleasure I am presenting to you my wooden bead & wire heart.  Let me know what you think?

Materials

  • 14 inch piece of stiff wire
  • Assorted beads and buttons
  • Ribbon or trim
  • Wire ornament hooks

Also Needed

  • Wire cutters
  • Needle nose pliers

Costs

  • I had all the items on-hand from other projects so this was a free craft for me.  If you had to buy the materials I think it would be around $5 to make a dozen or two of them.
  • The beads I used came from two or three garlands bought after Christmas AGES ago for maybe 50₵ each for the beads and a beaded belt I bought for 25₵ around Halloween last year.  It also had triangular beads on it that were perfect to make candy corn maganet with!  If you keep on the outlook for cheap items with beads, you will always have beads on-hand.

Instructions

Photo 1: Assemble Supplies.

Photo 2: Using the bend as a guide bend the wire into a heart shape. String small beads in the center point of the heart.

Photo 3: String beads alternating very small with larger beads. When finished twist the ends together.

Photo 4: To finish the heart thread the ends of the wire through a button shank.

Photo 5 Twist wire around until wire is pulled taut and there is no slack in the mini wreath.

Photo 6: Turn over and make any last-minute adjustments. I added a dot dash border to the star. Attach a wire ornament hanger.

Photo 7: On this second wreath I could not get the wire to pull snug. finally I twisted the heart around until the twisted ends of the wire were in middle of the heart.

Photo 8: Then I wrapped a strip of burlap around the gap in the bends. Loop it several times and pull taut then tie.

Photo 9: Tie a bow and insert hanger and the ornament is ready to hang.

Thank you for reading my post. I hope you enjoyed the tutorial.  If you have any questions or something is not clear, please let me know so that I can improve the tutorial.   

Please take a moment to leave a comment and rate this post.

Thanks again. 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Beaded Hearts

  1. These are really cute! Love the burlap bow! Thanks for following me at Silo Hill Farm!

  2. I’ll definitely have to try this! I have all of that stuff at home. I totally know what you mean about those midnight crafting urges! Glad to know I’m not some kind of weirdo when I’m suddenly inclined to stop trying to sleep and just jump out of bed to craft instead lol. Really liking the lady bug one!

  3. Pingback: My Valentine Garland! « buggalcrafts

Thanks so much for taking time to look at my blog! I would love to hear what you think about my craft project and hear about how your' project turns out.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

